Caught L.U.I.S.

Ephesians 5:18, …be filled with the Spirit….

Do you know someone who has been in an accident due to the influence of alcoholic beverages? According to one website, around 11,000 people die every year in DUI (driving under the influence of alcoholic beverages) relateprayer11d accidents (www.drinkinganddriving.org). That is a sad number for sure. Perhaps you know someone in that number.

But do you know someone who lives under the influence of the Spirit of God? We could call those people L.U.I.S. – Living Under the Influence of the Spirit. According to the apostle Paul, believers are to be Spirit-filled, Spirit-controlled, Spirit-influenced people. This plays out in many different ways, as Ephesians 5 continues, but the main point is that the Spirit of God is to rule over the life of the believer, including his words, his attitudes, his thoughts, his actions, his ministry, his responses to life, and so much more. This is part of what constitutes true spirituality.

Perhaps a prayer for today, and each day, in this regard could be something like the following:

God, help me today to yield myself to the influence of the Holy Spirit in my life. Grant me grace to walk in the Spirit, so that I will not fulfill the sinful desires of my flesh. May I be willing, because of the influence of Your Spirit through Your Word, to minister to others in the way that you would like me to. Amen.

May we, as the people of God, be caught L.U.I.S. for the glory of God.

Leave a Reply

