A Political Insertion

I do not often speak about politics. In fact, in my blogging life, I never talk about politics.  However, the older I get, the more politically aware I think I am becoming. So let me insert one political blog post.ted-cruz-logo_160

This year is a crucial election year. Our current president is on his way out of office. The next president will either bring this country into further ruin, or lead this country into a more conservative and prosperous way. Are there any true Christians in this race that a Christian can support? While several candidates have stated a Christian conversion, fewer seem to live out the Christianity they profess. There is at least one candidate who claims salvation in Christ alone and who seems to be living out the truth of his Christianity, and is seeking to do so in the highest political office in the land.

Ted Cruz was in NH today. I was invited, along with a number of other NH pastors, to a meeting with him. It was the first time I have ever attended any kind of political event like that. I found him to be well-spoken, full of conviction, and dedicated to not only uphold the US Constitution, but also the principles and teachings of Scripture. He spoke much of religious freedom, and cited several US citizens, Christians, who have come under attack because of their Christian beliefs. He intends to fight for and uphold the religious values and freedoms our country was founded upon.

I went to this meeting with an open mind. I wanted to listen to what he had to say. I came away very impressed with his message. He is a candidate whom any Bible-believing Christian can support. No candidate is perfect, and I am sure there are things that I may disagree with, but Senator Cruz believes in God, has given a solid testimony of salvation and baptism, is a member of a church in Houston, upholds Biblical marriage, fights for the Constitution, and seems to be a worthy candidate to be the 45th President of the United States.

I would urge all Christians to vote this election year. If you do not vote, you cannot complain. The evangelical vote must be better this year than in 2012. But don’t just vote for anyone; don’t vote based on emotionalism; vote on moral and Biblical truth and principle. But also vote for a man who actually has a legitimate chance of winning. In this primary season, don’t throw away your vote to someone who cannot, should not, nor will not win. Give your vote to a solid conservative and Christian. I would recommend Ted Cruz.

Leave a Reply

